Windies selectors omit four seniors

West Indies’ captain and bowler Jason Holder.
Associated Press/ Arnulfo Franco

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) selectors have excluded four senior players in the 14-member squad for this month’s Tri-Nation One-day International (ODI) Series in the Caribbean,

Those left out of the squad are hard-hitting batsman Chris Gayle, all-rounders Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy, all of whom were members of the successful Twenty20 World Cup squad in India last month.

Trinidadian Kieron Pollard has returned to the team after a two-year exile from the regional squad.

In a release, the WICB selectors also announced the inclusion of off-spinner Sunil Narine for the first international tournament since he was banned last November by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for an illegal bowling action.

Off-spinner Ashley Nurse who has not played in a One-Day International has been called up along with fast bowler Shannon Gabriel who has also never played an One-Day International.

The WICB eligibility rule requires players to make themselves available for the Regional Super 50 series last January, if they are to qualify for selection to the One-Day International squad.

As expected, Jason Holder will lead the side for the series which runs from June 3-26 in Guyana, St. Kitts and Nevis, and Barbados and involved World champions Australia and South Africa.

The squad: Jason Holder (captain) Kieron Pollard, Shannon Gabriel, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Carlos Braithwaite, Sulieman Benn, Jonathan Carter, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Denish Ramdin, Marlon Samuels and Jerome Taylor.

More from Around NYC