Wade Memorial Award

On Thursday, June 20, Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr. presented the second annual John F. Wade Memorial Award to Stuart Appelbaum, president of the Retail, Wholesale & Department Store Union (RWDSU), at the third annual Bronx LGBTQ & Allies Award Ceremony.

The award is given in memory of John F. Wade, a former staff member for Bronx Borough President Fernando Ferrer and a well-respected New York City political activist and leader in the LGBT community who passed away in 2011. The award honors an individual who exemplifies the spirit, commitment and dedication that Mr. Wade brought to his advocacy, to politics and government, and to the City of New York.

More from Around NYC