Top cricket awards for Hope, Taylor

West Indies batsman Shai Hope collected three top awards — Windies Cricketer of the Year; Windies Test Cricketer of the Year; Windies ODI Cricketer of the Year for 2017 at a ceremony held recently at Hilton Hotel, Barbados. The final of the three-Test series against Sri Lanka was played last week in Barbados.

Female Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year awards went to Jamaican all-rounder Captain Stefanie Taylor, while Guyana’s Keemo Paul was voted Emerging Cricketer of the Year.

West Indies T20 Cricketer of the Year went to Trinidadian Evin Lewis, while Deandra Dottin was voted West Indies Women T20 Cricketer of the Year.

Barbadian Hope, 24, wicketkeeper/batsman who made two centuries in a famous West Indies Test victory at Headingley last summer, picked up the three top prizes.

The Regional Under-19 side was voted the Team of the Year, while the First Class Four-Day Cricketer of the Year was Grenadian Devon Smith.

Barbadian Roston Chase picked up the First Class 50 Over Cricketer of the Year award. The Caribbean T20 award went to Chadwick Walton.

Cricket West Indies Chief Executive Officer, Johnny Grave, in his remarks, acknowledge Digicel for their support to West Indies cricket, for 13 years and welcomed Sandals resorts as the new sponsor on board.

In his address, CWI President Dave Cameron, noted the increase in the number of players, which has moved from 25 to 177 in five years.

“We have the requisite number of players to compete,” he said.

More from Around NYC