Tendulkar is ICC Cricketer Of The Year

Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar holds the trophies after he won the Cricketer of the Year and People’s Choice awards at the International Cricket Council Awards 2010 in Bangalore, India.
AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi
AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi

India’s Sachin Tendulkar won the International Cricket Council’s Cricketer Of The Year award thus being rewarded the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy 2010 award. the ceremony was held in Bangalore India.

Tendulkar scored 1064 runs between Aug. 24, 2009 and and Aug. 10, 2010 in test matches averaging 81-84. He scored 914 runs in 17 one-day internationals between the same period 2009 into 2010 averaging 62-58. Tendulkar scored the first double century in 200 not out in a 50-over one-day match. He scored it against South Africa’s in Gwalior, India this year.

Test Cricketer of the Year:

Virender Sehwag

One-Day Player of the Year:

Abde Villers

ICC Test Team of the Year:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni [Captain], Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Graeme Swann, Sachin Tendulkar, Hamish Amla, Simon Katich, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn, James Anderson and Doug Bollinger.

ICC One-Day Team of the Year:

Ricky Ponting [captain], Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, Abde Villiers, Paul Collingwood, M.S. Dhoni, Stuart Broad, Doug Bollinger and Ryan Harris.

ICC Best 20 Performance for the Year:

Brendon McCullum [New Zealand], his 116 not out vs. Australia at Christ Church in New Zealand was outstanding. he won this award for 2010.

ICC Spirit Of Cricket Award:

New Zealand won for the second time in a row.

ICC Umpire Of The Year:

Aleem Dar of Pakistan won this award for the second consecutive year.

Selectors To Decide On Captaincy

West Indies selectors headed by Clyde Butts will determine who the next West Indies captain would be. The full selection panel comprises Clyde Butts, Robert Haynes and Courtney Browne.

Chris Gayle, the present captain, has notified the WICB that he is unavailable for the upcoming tour. Dwayne Bravo has not signed the retainer contract along with Kieron Pollard. After the selectors have nominated a new captain the WCB will decide on the other players. The selectors may have a difficult task in deciding on a captain because most of the players named do not have the experience at the highest level.

Darren Ganga Must Be Nominated Captain

The West Indies selectors along with the West Indies Cricket Board must come to the realization that cricket in the West Indies is falling apart and meaningful changes must be made. Chris Gayle has indicated to the West Indies Cricket Board on many occasions that he has no interest in the captaincy.

Why are the West Indies selectors and the WICB keep pushing an individual to captain a team when he is showing displeasure in doing so? The selectors ought to bring back Darren Ganga and nominate him to be West Indies captain. Undoubtedely Ganga is the best captain in the region. The selectors must not force themselves to have to go with Darren Sammy as the next captain.

WICB And WIPA Should Be Responsible

The West Indies Cricket Board and the West Indies Players Association must ensure that all the players that are injured and have not satisfied the board to be fully fit for the international arena receive the best help possible in all categories to improve their conditions.

Too many players including Ramneresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards, and Narsingh Deonarine fell apart with injuries, which affected the team.

More from Around NYC