Special ceremony honors outgoing CCJ president

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) will honor its outgoing president, Sir Dennis Byron, with a special sitting of the regional court in Antigua this week.

The CCJ was established in 2001 to replace the London-based Privy Council as the region’s final court.

The prominent St. Kitts-Nevis born jurist is the second Caribbean national to have been elected to serve as president of the court that also functions as an international tribunal interpreting the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas that governs the 15-member regional movement. Trinidadian Michael de Labastide served as the first president of the court.

Sir Dennis will be replaced by St. Vincent and the Grenadines jurist, Justice Adrian Saunders, who has been with the CCJ since its inception.

The sitting in Antigua is a ceremonial occasion to mark the end of Sir Dennis’ tenure at the CCJ.

More from Around NYC