Saxophonist Dean Fraser to drop ‘Nyahbinghi Christmas’

Renowned saxophonist Dean Fraser.
William Richards

“Nyahbinghi Christmas” is the latest body of work from the legendary Jamaican saxophonist Dean Fraser, as he looks to treat music lovers in different parts of the world to amazing sounds as the yuletide season draws near, according to Destine Media.

It said “Nyahbinghi Christmas is set for official release on Nov. 20, with Fraser teaming up with Tad Dawkins, Jr., of Tads Records, to deliver 16 Christmas songs, driven by traditional Rastafarian rhythms.

“Nyahbinghi is Jamaican music, an’ I want to bring a new instrumentation to these songs. Wi keep it musical but with a different vibe,” Fraser recently told the Jamaica Observer.

Destine Media said the story of reggae music will be incomplete without the mention of Dean Fraser.

Known for his mastery of the saxophone, the Kingston-born, multitalented Fraser has contributed to “tons of reggae recordings” since the mid-70s, Destine Media said.

“He is looking to continue in the trend in his latest project, as he delivers true Rastafarian music to lovers of reggae across the globe,” it said, stating that the Christmas album offers “lovers of good music an amazing end to the seemingly tumultuous 2020.”

Destine Media said some songs on the project that have gotten the “binghi” treatment include “When a Child is Born,” “Christmas A Cum (Mi Waa Mi Llama),” “Long Time Ago,” “Santa Ketch Up Inna Mango Tree,” “Merry Christmas” and “Felice Navidad.”

Other songs on the album are “Little Donkey,” “Virgin Mary,” “First Noel,” “Angles We Have Heard on High,” “What Child Is This,” “I See Joyful Silence,” “We Three Kings” and “Drumma Boy,” Destine Media said.

“I wouldn’t say Christmas is my favorite time of di year; only thing I love about Christmas is di songs,” it quoted Fraser as saying. “They are well-written and worth listening to.”

Destine Media said Fraser worked with other “amazing minds” on the project, such as percussionists Congo Billy, Hector Lewis and the “late, great Denver ‘Feluke’ Smith.”

Other acts featured on different songs on the album include bassist Mikey Fletcher, guitarists Dario Morgan and Lamont Savory, keyboardist Andrew Marsh, and flutist Zoe McIntyre, Destine Media said.

“Nyahbinghi Christmas” will be released digitally and on physical CD on Nov. 20, 2020.

To order “Nyahbinghi Christmas,” visit

More from Around NYC