Laparkan sponsors 50th Independence Anniversary Cricket

Laparkan Chairman and chief executive officer Glen Khan (left) hands over his company’s sponsorship check to Trinidad and Tobago’s Consul General in Miami Dr. Anil Ramnanan and President of the Jamaica Diaspora Foundation Dr. Susan Davis at Laparkan’s new warehouse and corporate office in Miami.
Photo courtesy Caribbean Trade Center Miami

Laparkan Shipping has announced its sponsorship of the two match Twenty20 cricket series to be played here next week in celebration of the 50th Independence anniversary of Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

Laparkan chairman and chief executive officer Glen Khan made the announcement during a visit to the company’s new warehouse and corporate offices by members of the Caribbean Consular Corps, Caribbean American community leaders and members of the press last Friday.

Khan handed over a check to Trinidad and Tobago’s Consul General Dr. Anil Ramnanan and President of the Jamaica Diaspora Organization Dr. Susan Davis. In making the presentation Khan said Laparkan “cherishes the relationship we have developed over the years with the people of both countries and we are thankful for their business. Our sponsorship of this Twenty20 cricket showdown between the national teams of Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago is in keeping with our commitment to giving back to the communities that support us.”

Both Dr. Ramnanan and Dr. Davis thanked Laparkan for its sponsorship of the matches noting that without such sponsorships these would not have been possible. They also praised Laparkan for its ongoing good corporate citizenship, which should be a model for other companies.

The two-match Twenty20 series will be played at the Central Broward Regional Park in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on Friday, Aug.10 and Saturday, Aug. 11.

The Jamaica team will be led by Tamar Lambert and will include Andre Russell, Carlton Baugh, Nikita Miller, Danza Hyatt and Dave Bernard Jnr. while the Trinidad and Tobago team will be captained by Denesh Ramdin and will include Lendl Simmons, Adrian Bharath, Darren Ganga, Dave Mohammed and Mervyn Dillon.

A special exhibition match between teams representing the Consuls General of Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica will be played on Saturday, Aug. 11.

More from Around NYC