Chennai Super Kings (CSK) crushed the Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to win their third title at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was the star of the show with his unbeaten century (117) as CSK were brutal in their run chase to win the title.

CSK captained by M.S Dhoni won the toss and sent in Sunrisers Hyderabad to bat and they put on 178 for 6 in their allotted 20 overs.

In reply CSK won the game with eight wickets to spare. Watson and Suresh Raina (32) put on a further 48 after opener South African Fa Du Plessis fell cheaply in the fourth over when the score was at 16.

Watson and Ambati Rayudu stayed together to take their team to victory.

West Indies Twenty20 captain Carlos Brathwaite batting for Sunrisers belted three sixes in a 11-ball 21 as they piled up 178 for 6.

Captain Kane Williamson top scored with 47 from 36 balls while Yusuf Pathan chipped in with an unbeaten 45 from 25 deliveries.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan got 26 and Shakib-al-Hasan 23.

Braithwaite put on 34 from 18 balls for the sixth wicket before falling to the final ball of the innings.

Twenty20 all-rounder Dwayne Bravo proved expensive for CSK, leaking 46 runs from his four overs but managed to get one wicket.

More from Around NYC