India tours West Indies

West Indies’ bowler Jason Holder to captain team.
Associated Press / Arnulfo Franco

The India team which was surprisingly beaten in the finals of the World Cup in London on June 18 by Pakistan, arrived in the Caribbean on Tuesday, June 20 to play the West Indies a five-match limited-over series which started on June 23.

Their first two ODIs were played on Friday, June 23 and on Sunday, June 25 at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain.

The third and fourth matches on June 30 and July 2 will be hosted at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and the final ODI (July 6) and lone Twenty20 will be played at Sabina Park, Jamaica on July 9.

India have played 29 ODIs against the West Indies since 1983, winning 10, losing 18 and playing one with no result.

India registered its first win in ODIs against the West Indies during the 1982-83 series and it was the first instance of a full-strength West Indies losing at home.

In 1988-89, India lost the series 0-5. India is being led by Virat Kholi, while the West Indies has retained Jason Holder as captain.

Indian cricket captain Virat Kholi.
Associated Press / Rafiq Maqbool

More from Around NYC