Guyana readies for elections

Seven parties are set to contest the General and Regional Elections in Guyana on May 11, 2015.

Among the parties contesting are People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C), A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance for Change (APNU)+AFC), Independent Party Organization for the Victory of the People Party (OVPP), the United Force (TFU), United Republican Party (UTP) and Healing the Nation Theocracy Party.

From the releases lists of the ruling PPP/Civic it was clear that several surprises have been thrown up, particularly in the 93-strong national top up list.

In addition to the return of former President Bharath Jagdeo, who suddenly backtracked from a recent position that he will not be a candidate, chief executive officer of the troubled Guyana Sugar Corporation, Dr. Rajendra Singh, is the one that caught the eye along with businessmen Clinton Urling and Peter Ramsaroop, former AFC executive Sixtus Edwards and former APNU parliamentarian Africo Selman.

Also on the list is Mahender Sharma. He is the chief executive officer of the regulatory Guyana Energy Agency and son of television station owner, CN Sharma. Badrie Persaud, managing director of the Guyana Oil Company is also among the list of candidates.

More from Around NYC