Guyana nationals can travel to Russia without a visa

Guyana’s Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge.
Associated Press / Pierre Thielemans

Russian President Vladimir Putin may not agree with U.S. President Barack Obama on how to handle Syria.

But governments of Guyana and Russia are of one opinion that visas will not be required to travel between those two distant nations.

Recently, Guyana’s Foreign Affairs Minister Carl Greenidge and his Russian counterpart Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov signed an agreement that will facilitate visa-free travel for their citizens.

The groundbreaking signing took place at the United Nations where the 70th session of the General Assembly opened earlier this week.

According to terms of the arrangement citizens of the nation s will be able to travel between the two countries without a visa and stay for a maximum of six months at a time.

Aimed at encouraging tourism between the two countries, Greenidge said the provision of the agreement will begin a new development to boost the industry and also enhance business throughout the Caribbean nation.

He added that the latest agreement would also improve major barriers that currently impede business relations between the two states.

Guyana established diplomatic relations with the Soviet Union in 1970.

They maintained ties when Russia became the successor state, following the collapse of the Soviet Union.

A Russian embassy in the capital city of Georgetown and Guyana’s honorary embassy in Moscow will continue to handle all bureaucracy pertaining to the two nations.

More from Around NYC