Darren Sammy to captain T20 team

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) selectors have retained Darren Sammy as captain for the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty20 (T20) tournament in India.

And embattled West Indies off-spinner Sunil Narine, who was banned from international cricket, has been included in the 16-man squad pending test results on his illegal bowling action.

Narine has been doing rehabilitative work and is expected to fly out to Loughborough University in England to do another test on his bowling action. If he passes the test, he will take his place in the West Indies squad which will compete in the ICC World T20 in India in March and April.

There were speculations that Sammy may have been replaced by Test and ODI Captain Jason Holder but the selectors opted for experience going into the T20.

Sammy was at the helm of the team that won the title in 2012 in Sri Lanka and reached the semi-finals in 2014 in Bangladesh.

He retired from test cricket on May 9 last year but is still available to play ODIs for the regional team.

He was left out of the West Indies team for the ODIs against Sri Lanka in November last year.

The West Indies are currently ranked number one in the ICC rankings for T20s.

Team: Darren Sammy (captain), Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Keiron Pollard, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Sunil Narine, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Jerome Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle and Andre Fletcher.

More from Around NYC