Hard-hitting swashbuckling batsman Dwayne Smith has returned to the Windies squad for the Twenty/20 double header against England this month.

Smith represented the West Indies in March last year during the first One-Day International against Zimbabwe. He had a long wait to return but was finally recalled by the selectors.

No Trinidad and Tobago player was considered because of their participation in the champions league this month. Four new players have been included into the squad and they are opening batsmen Miles Bascombe and Johnson Charles, all-rounder Nkrymah Bonner and wicket keeper batsman Derwin Christian.

Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard are not eligible for selection because they missed the Caribbean Twenty/20 championship.

The West Indies T20 squad comprises Darren Sammy (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Miles Bascombe, Devendra Bishoo, Nkrumah Bonner, Johnson Charles, Derwin Christian, Fidel Edwards, Danza Hyatt, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmarsaal Tokie and Dwayne Smith.

Kemar Roach Is

Overlooked Again

Barbados and West Indies fast bowler Kemar Roach is once again being overlooked by the selectors. It is a Twenty/20 appearance but that is no reason why Roach should not have been selected.

Roach still remains the number one West Indies fast bowler notwithstanding the return of Fidel Edwards. It is hoped that the West Indies selectors would have the correct squad in place for the matches against Bangladesh and India later this year.

Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Chris Gayle are of vital importance to the West Indies cricket team. The West Indies cricket team continues to need the experience of Chanderpaul and Gayle who have a lot to offer. These two senior players are needed for the tours of Bangladesh and India.

Gayle opening the batting, along with Adrian Barath, should serve as a strong stable start for the Windies. Chanderpaul batting at number four or five will provide the stability for the middle order.

International Cricket Council Names Test XI

The I.C.C. has named its 2011 Test XI. The team comprises:

Kumar Sangakar (wicket keeper and captain), Jonathan Trott, Alastair Cook, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Dale Steyn, Sachin Tendulkar, Hashim Amla, Abde Villiers and Jacques Kallis.

Note: Former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd is the chairman of the I.C.C. Awards selection panel.

More from Around NYC