Ten CARICOM countries, which support One China’s Policy are to benefit from US$3 billion in concessional loans from that country.

The countries are; Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Suriname, Montserrat, Guyana, Barbados, The Bahamas, Grenada, Dominica and Antigua and Barbuda support the One China’s Policy, in which the People’s Republic of China does not recognize a separate entity called the Republic of China which administers Taiwan.

Belize, Haiti, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia and St. Kitts and Nevis maintain relationships with Taiwan.

Trinidad and Tobago Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar made the announcement of the latest financial assistance being offered by the President of the People’s Republic of China, Xi Jinping, after she attended a luncheon held at Hilton Trinidad, St. Ann’s, which featured an address from Xi while he was in there on a three-day official visit.

The prime minister said President Jinping disclosed that his country will be contributing US$3 billion in concessional financing for the CARICOM region.

Persad-Bissessar explained that out of the US $3 billion, US$1.5 billion will go for infrastructure projects and another US$1.5 billion for other kinds of development projects in the region.

The 10 CARICOM leaders were in Trinidad for the visit of President Xi where he held bilateral meetings with each of them.

More from Around NYC